A Chronology of Merton Publications

1944 - Thirty Poems

1946 - A Man in the Divided Sea

1947 - Exile Ends in Glory

1948 - Best-selling autobiography, The Seven Storey Mountain; What Are These Wounds?

1949 - Seeds of Contemplation; The Tears of the Blind Lions; The Waters of Siloe

1951 - The Ascent to Truth

1953 - The Sign of Jonas; Bread in the Wilderness

1954 - The Last of the Fathers

1955 - No Man Is an Island

1956 - The Living Bread

1957 - The Silent Life; The Strange Islands

1958 - Thoughts in Solitude

1959 - The Secular Journal of Thomas Merton; Selected Poems

1960 - Disputed Questions; The Wisdom of the Desert

1961 - The New Man; The Behavior of Titans

1961 - Emblems of a Season of Fury; Life and Holiness

1964 - Seeds of Destruction

1965 - Gandhi on Non-Violence; The Way of Chuang Tzu; Seasons of Celebration

1966 - Raids on the Unspeakable; Conjectures of a Guilty Bystander

1967 - Mystics and Zen Masters

1968 - Monks Pond; Cables to the Ace; Faith and Violence; Zen and the Birds of Appetite


Posthumous Publications

1969 - My Argument with the Gestapo; Contemplative Prayer; The Geography of Lograire

1971 - Contemplation in a World of Action

1973 - The Asian Journal of Thomas Merton; He Is Risen

1976 - Ishi Means Man

1977 - The Monastic Journey; The Collected Poems of Thomas Merton

1979 - Love and Living

1980 - The Non-Violent Alternative

1981 - The Literary Essays of Thomas Merton; Day of a Stranger Introductions East and West: The Foreign Prefaces of Thomas Merton (reprinted in 1989 under title "Honorable Reader" Reflections on My Work)

1982 - Woods, Shore and Desert: A Notebook, May 1968

1985 - The Hidden Ground of Love: Letters on Religious Experience and Social Concerns (Letters, 1)

1988 - A Vow of Conversation: Journals 1964-1965; Thomas Merton in Alaska: The Alaskan Conferences, Journals and Letters

1989 - The Road to Joy: Letter to New and Old Friends (Letters, II)

1990 - The School of Charity: Letters on Religious Renewal and Spiritual Direction (Letters, III)

1993 - The Courage for Truth: Letters to Writers (Letters, IV)

1994 - Witness to Freedom: Letters in Times of Crisis (Letters, V)

1995 - Run to the Mountain: The Story of a Vocation (Journals, I: 1939-1941)

1996 - Entering the Silence: Becoming a Monk and Writer (Journals, II: 1941-1952); A Search for Solitude: Pursuing the Monk's True Life (Journals,  III: 1952-1960); Turning Toward the World: The Pivotal Years (Journals, IV: 1960-1963)

1997 -Dancing in the Water of Life: Seeking Peace in the Hermitage (Journals, V: 1963- 1965); Learning to Love: Exploring Solitude and Freedom (Journals VI: 1966-1967)

1998The Other Side of the Mountain: The End of the Journey (Journals VII: 1967-1968)

1999 -The Intimate Merton: His Life from His Journals

2001 - Dialogues with Silence.

2003 - The Inner Experience. Seeking Paradise: The Spirit of the Shakers.

2004 - Peace in a Post-Christian Era.

2005 - In the Dark Before Dawn: New Selected Poems of Thomas Merton. Cassian and the Fathers.

2006 - The Cold War Letters. Pre-Benedictine Monasticism.

2008 - Introduction to Christian Mysticism. A Life in Letters: The Essential Collection.

2009 - The Rule of St. Benedict. Compassionate Fire: The Letters of Thomas Merton and Catherine De Hueck Doherty.

2010 - Monastic Observances.

2012 - The Life of the Vows.